play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of Painswick Valley Car Sales Ltd

At Painswick Valley Car Sales Ltd we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

Painswick Valley Car Sales Ltd

Painswick Valley Car Sales Ltd
5
4.7

Based on 26 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    The worst experience!!

    By Anonymous on 21 March 2022 | Purchase not verified

    I have recently had such an awful experience with this garage that it has prompted me to write a review in the hope that others can be wary of the totally unprofessional, shady and crass way in which a customer can be treated. A few days after my initial phone enquiry about a 2014 Audi TT Roadster, when James advised that a deposit had been already been taken earlier that day, he phoned to say that the potential sale of the car had had turned sour. He would not be re-advertising the car until the following week, and in the meantime would "give me first refusal" on the car. I therefore arranged with James to view the car on Friday 18 March 2022. However, I subsequently had to phone the garage to change the viewing to the following day (Saturday 19 March). In James absence, I spoke to his mother, and explained that I was still very interested in the car, but could not now attend the garage as previously arranged. I requested for James to ring me if there were any problems with the new arrangement. It is now very ironic that James' mothers reaction was to say that she "could not envisage any problems and they looked forward to seeing me on SATURDAY AFTERNOON". I therefore made the 60 mile round trip to view the TT on Saturday. Upon arrival at the garage, I made my way into an office unit, where after a wait at the office door, my presence was finally acknowledged by a man in the office who turned out to be James. After introducing myself, James made no welcome gesture, and in a very unapologetic manner, merely advised that the TT had been sold earlier that day. When I asked how come, when he had given me first refusal, and why he had not phoned me, he shockingly said that as far as he was concerned I had advised his mother that I could not attend the garage on Friday as originally arranged and I would be back in touch. I therefore challenged this version of my conversation with his mother, but James did not even have the decency to look me in the eye and acknowledge th

    Reply from Painswick Valley Car Sales Ltd on 25/03/22

    “I’ve had such an awful experience” or “I was too slow and missed out on a car I wanted?” Hi Paul, with respect I gave you the opportunity to buy the car however you missed your appointment, but I appreciated your phone call to my mum in my absence, to say you couldn’t attend. My mum has confirmed that you did indeed say you would come Saturday during the call. Unfortunately the car was readvertised following this conversation and someone reserved the car online, on my website by completing the Reserve Online Tab Friday night, free for anyone to complete when they are ready ti proceed! They quite literally drove away in it almost as you arrived. I am super sorry that you missed out, we had the car for several months and as you said you have been watching it a while, but unfortunately such is the nature of house sales and car sales, it’s first come, first serve. I did indeed try to give you first refusal, but you missed the opportunity. Of course I am sorry you missed the car but don’t feel its fair and necessary for both you and your partner to so harshly run down our brilliant little family run business (my mum and I) just because you missed out on a car I had for sale? What is the world coming to where individuals can be allowed to publish these inappropriate reviews. Interesting isn’t it that the only 1* reviews we have are from people who didn’t actually buy anything?! So truly sorry you missed out on your car but the review is completely unnecessary and spiteful. Next time when you see something you want, act quickly because otherwise others may beat you to it and it will be no one’s fault but your own. James


  • 5

    Definitely has been a Pain!

    By Anonymous on 20 November 2021 | Purchase not verified

    Disappointing experience had with this seller. We fell for the smooth sales man tactic and promises James provided over the phone with regards to putting a deposit down. He assured us he would happily refund our deposit if we changed our mind but he went back on his word. So disappointing. We loved the car; were so excited, asked all the questions and it ticked all the boxes. Of course the pressure is there to put a deposit down before it’s sold. We did that with intention to buy. Everything over the phone - big lesson learned! Leading up to final day we carried on final checks and discovered it was not ULEZ compliant (something we asked on the phone and James said yes - everything about the car was positive hence the deposit payment). The car is no longer useful as we wouldn’t be able to use it (London) and when we asked for the deposit back that’s when we dealt with the real James. Completely changed his tune, professionalism and manners. He was no longer poised but ruthless - I was so surprised. Get things in writing rather than over the phone! Things like this reduces your faith in people. Don’t trust people as people can always go back on their word. I lost out but learned a big lesson. Hope you enjoy that ‘little change’ to you which really hit our pockets. Wishing you all the best

    Reply from Painswick Valley Car Sales Ltd on 03/12/21

    Dear sir, after facing a series of questions about the Mini Countryman we had for sale, you placed a deposit to reserve the car to prevent it being sold to others. This deposit was returnable on the basis that upon collection, if the car wasn’t as described you would be entitled to it back, this was offered in reassurance and a policy we adopted during the COVID pandemic on click and collect basis with 100% success. The car was off sale of 9 days, adverts removed from approx 12 web sites, 2 other interested parties informed the car was sold. 24 hrs before collection you called demanding a £1000 discount apologising that you hadn’t helped your wife with the purchase, but if you had, that would be what you would demand. 12 hrs before collection, you call saying you forgot to ask if the car was suitable for London congestion charges. With respect, we live in Gloucestershire, we are not able to second guess where the cars we are selling are going to be driven and at NO POINT WAS THIS EVER MENTIONED UNTIL NOW! You then are offered a full credit note equivalent to the £290 deposit so that you can choose something suitable from our current or future stock here at Painswick Valley Cars. A deposit was placed to reserve the car for a Friday 1pm collection and you didn’t turn up. What would you like us to do, return all deposits to customers who change their mind 12 hours before collection up to 10 days after initially taking it? Because that’s what we did, in the form of a credit note! While I appreciate you feel aggrieved, we are a fantastic little family run car sales outlet and your review, full inconsistencies and errors in an attempt to tarnish our name is shameful. We at no stage did anything wrong and offered our normal high attention to detail approach, you however didn’t know what you were doing…… Kind regards


  • 5

    Fully Recommended

    By Anonymous on 31 August 2021 | Purchase not verified

    Recently purchased a Ford Fiesta for my son and have to say the experience from test driving the car to agreeing to purchase was very professional and enjoyable . Thank you to James and his Mother who did a fantastic job preparing the vehicle for collection . Fully recommend this Dealership .


  • 5

    Wonderful service and fabulous cars !!

    By Sarah L on 29 August 2021 | Purchase not verified

    I don't very often leave reviews unless service received or a product purchased is exemplary. On this occasion I received both. From the first contact with James on the telephone his passion for service and customer satisfaction wad clearly evident. Nothing was too much trouble and upon collection of the car, a Smart Fortwo i was so happy with my purchase- it was in showroom condition. A lovely touch enriched my experience too as James's mum valeted the car whilst I waited - it didn't need it as it was already immaculate but very much appreciated. This is a well established family run business who select quality cars backed up with looking after the customer from start to finish. I would not hesitate to recommend James and family to anyone looking for a genuine quality car sold by such caring, lovely people !


  • 5

    Thee are some genuinely great used car dealers out there!

    By Tim F on 17 July 2021 | Purchase not verified

    Having always bought new and just pulled out of a used car sale because of a dodgy vehicle, I must admit that I was a little wary. However, James and his mum at Painswick valley cars were absolutely awesome- professionals who take pride in what they offer. James talked me through the car that I eventually bought and had it thoroughly cleaned and checked at an independent garage before I took ownership. He even agreed to update the MOT and some of the cosmetic aspects of the car. The fact that he also gives a three month warranty and always buys his cars from main dealers, means that there is greater peace of mind too. I was really impressed with the service from start to finish and would definitely go back when I need my next car.


  • 5

    By Fiona W on 27 June 2021 | Purchase not verified

    Enquired about a VW Tiguan on the Friday and picked it up on the Saturday with new MOT. Could not have been more helpful. Highly recommended.


  • 5

    Great Experience

    By Fiona G on 13 January 2021 | Purchase not verified

    James sold me my Mini Cooper S . From the start he was great and answered any questions I had. He generously cleaned and MOT the car before delivering it to us . You can really tell he is passionate at what he does. Would 100% recommend Painswick Valley Car Sales and will for sure use them again in the future.


  • 5

    Mercedes A-Class in exceptional condition

    By Kate P on 09 January 2021 | Purchase not verified

    James sold us a A Class Mercedes- the quality of the car is second to none. James communication with us was excellent and he ensured the car was MOT’d and ready for us with little notice. Would certainly buy here again and would highly recommend.


  • 5

    Best in the business, GENUINE

    By Tarnjeet R on 05 January 2021 | Purchase not verified

    He is the loveliest and most down to earth person in the south east. He sold his gem of a Subaru Impreza to me and gave me great advise and helped me from start to end. The vehicles he maintains are to the highest of standards. The vehicle was my dream car and the passion and reliability he has is above and beyond. Cheers to you and your mother for all of your support, J, thanks again.


  • 5

    Excellent and efficient service

    By Damian R on 07 December 2020 | Purchase not verified

    I purchased a Ford Fiesta from James and couldn't be happier with my purchase. The service was first class, efficient and very competitive on price. I travelled quite a distance to see the car and it was exactly, it not better, than advertised. The car had a MOT before I picked it up, which was possible due to a timely response from James from viewing the car to picking it up. I would definitely recommend the garage and James to others and will no doubt be back again in the future.


‹ Prev Next ›

Painswick Valley Car Sales Ltd

Telephone:
01453 768880

Opening times

Monday 09:30 - 18:00
Tuesday 09:30 - 18:00
Wednesday 09:30 - 18:00
Thursday 09:30 - 18:00
Friday 09:30 - 18:00
Saturday 09:30 - 17:30
Sunday Closed

Painswick Valley Car Sales Ltd

Address:
PAINSWICK ROAD,
Stroud,
Gloucestershire,
GL6 6LG